Coinage Designs of 1937

The maple twig was designed by Kruger Gray. It had been submitted for the Five Cent piece originally, but was chosen for the One Cent instead.

Immediately after the death of King George V, J.H. Campbell, then Master of the Royal Canadian Mint, submitted to the government certain proposals in regard to obtaining new designs for the reverses of all Canadian subsidiary coins except the dollar, drawing attention to much adverse criticism of the (then) present series and pointing out that the issue of coins with effigy of the new sovereign was a fitting opportunity for making a change.

Approval was given to the formation of a informal committee consisting of Dr. W.C. Clark, Deputy Minister of Finance, Sir Arthur Doughty, Dr. Gustave Lanctot. Chief French Archivist, Dr. Victor Morin, President of the Antiquarian and Numismatic Society of Montreal, Mr. Eric Brown, Director of the National Art Gallery of Canada, Mr. Gerald Larkin, and Sir Wyly Grier, President of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts, with Mr. J.H. Campbell as chairman, to advise the Minister in connection to the new designs. Mr. Larkin was unable to act, but the others met and drew up a memorandum setting out the conditions of a proposed competition, and suggesting a number of subjects for the consideration of the artists, who were left free at the same time to choose any other subjects which might appeal to them individually.

In response to the invitation sent out 76 drawings and 1 plaster model where received by 12 Canadian artists, and from these a selection was made by the committee for consideration by the government but, none being found acceptable and were rejected by the government.

It was then decided to commission 6 sculptors, who had already submitted drawings, to prepare plaster models, assigning to each the subjects to be treated. At the same time it was decided to enlist the cooperation Sir Robert Johnson Deputy Master and Comptroller of the Royal Mint, in obtaining sketch designs from 1 or 2 outstanding British artist specializing in coin designs.

Mr. Campbell was soon in the position to submit, for the consideration of the government, 2 plaster casts by Emanuel Hahn, of Toronto, and 3 sketches by Mr. G. Kruger Gray, whose medal and coin designs were known throughout the British Empire, with the recommendation that, with certain modifications to be incorporated by the respective artist in the finished models, they be accepted for the new Canadian series of coins. These designs were then accepted by the government.

The beaver was designed by Kruger Gray. It had been submitted for the ten cent piece originally, but was chosen for the Five Cent coin.

The schooner was designed by Emanuel Hahn. It had been submitted for the Twenty-Five Cent piece originally, but was chosen for the Ten Cent coin.

The caribou head was designed by Emanuel Hahn. It had been submitted for the Five Cent piece originally, but was chosen for the Twenty-Five Cent coin. The original drawings included the Big Dipper constellation in the foreground of the caribou, three of the stars made it to the coin.

Coinage Designs of -

| 1935 | 1939 | 1943-5 | 1949 | 1951 | 1958 | 1964 | 1967 | 1996 |

Return to the Main Directory

Please direct any comment to Patrick

Page created by: muckwa
Changes last made on: 02/11/04

The entire contents of the Design in Canadian Coins website are ęCopyright 1997-2002. Permission is granted to non-profit organizations and to individuals for their personal use, to copy any of the material contained herein, on the condition that such copies are not to be sold or otherwise used for profit, and that Patrick Glassford is shown as the source of such information or material.
The Design in Canadian Coins website (EST. in 1997 by Patrick Glassford) is a division of the Canadian Numismatic Publishing Institute, established in 1958 by Somer James, publisher of many fine Canadian numismatic publications such as "A GUIDE BOOK OF CANADIAN COINS, CURRENCY & TOKENS" and "CANADIAN SILVER DOLLARS" by Starr Gilmore.

The Canadian Numismatic Publishing Institute (CNPI), and all its existing copyrights,
are the sole property of Patrick Glassford.