Coinage Designs of 1964

We do hereby proclaim, direct and determine that the design of the proposed new silver dollar shall be as hereinafter set out: The design of the reverse impression to depict, conjoined within a circle, the French Fleur-de-lis, the Irish Shamrock, the Scottish Thistle and the English Rose surrounded by the names "CHARLOTTETOWN" and "QUEBEC"; the whole enclosed by the words "CANADA" above, "DOLLAR" below and the figures "1864" at the left and "1964" at the right, together with a graining upon the edge of the coin.

In 1962, The Honourable Donald M. Fleming, Minister of Finance, announced that the Government would hold a competition to secure a new design for a Canadian silver dollar. An invitation was extended to artists and sculptors in Canada to submit designs for such a new coin, which is to be issued in 1964, to commemorate the one hundredth anniversary of the 1864 Conferences of the Fathers of Confederation which led up to the Confederation of Canada in 1867.

A Board of Judges was appointed as follows: N. A. Parker, Master of the Mint (Chairman): K. W. Taylor, Deputy Minister of Finance; L. Rasminsky, Governor of the Bank of Canada; Dr. C. F. Comfort, Director of the National Gallery; Dr. W. Kaye Lamb, Dominion Archivist; Marc Cinq-Mars, Architect, Montreal, PQ; and H. G. Bugden, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island. (A description of the new design and the name of the artist will be announced in the 1963 report.)

The Board of Judges, who were appointed to choose a reverse design for a dollar coin to commemorate the one hundredth anniversary of the 1864 Conferences of the Fathers of Confederation, selected the design submitted by Mr. Dinko Vodanovic of Montreal from amongst some 168 others.

Mr. Vodanovic was presented with the first prize of $1,000.00 by the Honourable George C. Nowlan who was then Minister of Finance.

Four other prizes of $250.00 each were awarded for the four designs receiving honourable mention.

The winners were:

H. D. Voss, Cooksville, Ontario.

Elmer Smutny, Montreal, PQ.

Augusts A. Kopmanis, Toronto, Ontario.

E. H. Ellwand, Deschenes, PQ.

Coinage Designs of -

| 1935 | 1937 | 1939 | 1943-5 | 1949 | 1951 | 1958 | 1967 | 1996 |

Return to the Main Directory

Please direct any comment to Patrick

Page created by: muckwa
Changes last made on: 02/11/0

The entire contents of the Design in Canadian Coins website are ęCopyright 1997-2002. Permission is granted to non-profit organizations and to individuals for their personal use, to copy any of the material contained herein, on the condition that such copies are not to be sold or otherwise used for profit, and that Patrick Glassford is shown as the source of such information or material.
The Design in Canadian Coins website(EST. in 1997 by Patrick Glassford) is a division of the Canadian Numismatic Publishing Institute, established in 1958 by Somer James, publisher of many fine Canadian numismatic publications such as "A GUIDE BOOK OF CANADIAN COINS, CURRENCY & TOKENS" and "CANADIAN SILVER DOLLARS" by Starr Gilmore.

The Canadian Numismatic Publishing Institute (CNPI), and all its existing copyrights,
are the sole property of Patrick Glassford.